SDC Learnership 2026: The Skills Development Corporation (SDC) is not a single learnership with one fixed set of rules. It is an accredited training provider that sources, places and manages learners across a range of qualifications, funded largely through B-BBEE skills development spend at host employers.
That distinction matters enormously if you are trying to apply. There is no single “SDC learnership application form” with one deadline and one stipend. Instead, there is an eligibility gate, a document submission process, an assessment, and then a wait for placement into whichever programme a host employer is funding at the time.
This guide explains what SDC actually is, who qualifies, what the process involves, and where applicants most commonly go wrong.
Quick Opportunity Summary
- Learnership: SDC Learnership Programme 2026
- Provider: Skills Development Corporation (SDC), a Level 1 B-BBEE contributor with 51% Black female ownership
- Location: Johannesburg campus (24 Achter Road, Paulshof, Sandton) and Cape Town campus (4th Floor, Bloemhof Building, 112 Edward Street, Bellville)
- Duration: At least 12 months per learnership
- Qualification: Varies by programme — Grade 12 required for some, Grade 11 accepted for others
- Stipend: Not specified on SDC’s official learner pages; varies by programme and host employer
- Eligibility: South African citizen, aged 18–28, meeting SDC’s B-BBEE eligibility criteria, with the qualification required for the specific programme, available for 12 months, and able to attend mandatory practical training
- Closing date: No fixed closing date — described as ongoing or rolling, and varying by intake
- Status: VERIFY current availability before submitting documents
What Is the SDC Learnership Programme?
SDC describes itself as a recognised and accredited educational institution and one of South Africa’s top suppliers of B-BBEE-aligned training and skills development programmes. It operates as a division of SDC Group and provides businesses with a platform to earn skills development B-BBEE points by investing in accredited learnerships and skills programmes for their workforce or for unemployed youth.
Its scale is worth noting because it affects how the application process works. SDC lists 13 SAQA-accredited qualifications, 7 QCTO-accredited qualifications, more than 100 tailored skills programmes, 40 learner classrooms, capacity for 4,500 learners and 30 accredited facilitators.
A learnership, in SDC’s own definition, is a structured learning programme that includes theoretical and practical workplace experiential learning over at least 12 months, leading to an occupationally related qualification registered on the National Qualifications Framework.
In practical terms, this means SDC is a training provider and placement intermediary, not the employer. You apply to SDC, you are screened and assessed, you are added to a learner database, and you are then placed into a learnership when a host employer funds one that matches your profile. That is why there is no single closing date and no universal stipend.
Who Can Apply?
According to SDC’s current learner application criteria, applicants must meet the following requirements:
- Citizenship: South African citizen.
- Age: Between 18 and 28 years old.
- B-BBEE eligibility: Must meet SDC’s stated B-BBEE eligibility criteria. Third-party listings describe this as requiring applicants to be Black (African, Indian or Coloured). Confirm the precise criteria with SDC directly.
- Qualification: Must hold the qualification required for the particular learnership. This is programme-specific — Grade 12 for some programmes, Grade 11 for others.
- Availability: Must be available for the full 12-month programme.
- Practical training: Must attend the required practical training, which is mandatory.
- Disability status: SDC accommodates both applicants living with disabilities and able-bodied applicants
Employment status: The programme is aimed at unemployed applicants
Location: Learner facilities are in Johannesburg and Cape Town. SDC also runs disability-focused recruitment in Soweto, Eldorado Park and the greater Gauteng area, and a specific disability learnership advert required applicants to be Black, Indian or Coloured and living with a disability, aged 18 to 28
Age ceiling warning: The 18–28 age band is one of the most common disqualifiers. If you are 29 or older, this particular provider’s general criteria will screen you out regardless of your qualifications.
What Will You Learn?
SDC lists a broad range of accredited qualifications. Among those named in its current accredited learnership information and related programme listings are:
- National Certificate: Business Administration (NQF 2, Grade 12)
- National Certificate: Business Administration Services (NQF 3, Grade 11)
- Further Education and Training Certificate: Generic Management (NQF 4, Grade 12 preferred, Grade 11 acceptable)
- National Certificate: Management (NQF 2, Grade 11)
- National Certificate: New Venture Creation (SMME) (NQF 2, Grade 11)
- National Certificate: Information Technology: End User Computing (NQF 3, Grade 11 or basic computer literacy)
- Further Education and Training Certificate: Technical Support (NQF 4, Grade 12)
- Further Education and Training Certificate: Systems Development (NQF 4, Grade 12)
- National Certificate: Information Technology: Systems Support (NQF 5, Grade 12 plus PC technical/technical support or equivalent)
- Further Education and Training Certificate: Short-Term Insurance (NQF 4, Grade 12 with Maths 60% or Maths Lit 70% and Business Economics/Accounting 60%)
- Further Education and Training Certificate: Wealth Management (NQF 4, same subject requirements)
- National Certificate: Wealth Management (NQF 5, with additional NQF 4 requirements)
- National Certificate: Wholesale and Retail Operations (NQF 2, Grade 12 preferred, Grade 11 acceptable)
- National Certificate: General Security Practices (NQF 3, Grade 10)
- National Certificate: Bookkeeping (NQF 3, Grade 12 with Accounting highly recommended)
- Certificate: Office Administration (NQF 5, Grade 12 with Accounting)
Broader programme lists also reference insurance, project management, supply chain and cybersecurity streams. The training model combines theoretical knowledge, practical simulation and physical workplace experience.
Read that list carefully. The entry requirements differ sharply between programmes — Grade 10 for General Security Practices, Grade 11 for several NQF 2 and 3 certificates, Grade 12 with specific subject percentages for insurance and wealth management. Applying for a programme you do not qualify for is the fastest way to be rejected.
Learnership Duration
At least 12 months per learnership, which is SDC’s own stated minimum for a structured learnership. Individual programmes may run longer, and the exact duration should be confirmed for the specific qualification you are placed into.
Learnership Stipend
SDC’s official learner pages reviewed do not publish a universal stipend amount, and the available information states that the stipend is not specified on the official pages checked.
This is important: do not assume a figure. Stipends in the SDC ecosystem vary by programme and by the host employer funding the learnership.
One separate and clearly distinct opportunity, the SDC Lekone Learnership, was advertised with a stipend of R4,900 per month for Grade 11 and above, based in Johannesburg (Paulshof/Sandton) and Cape Town, with a closing date of 22 May 2026. That is a specific programme with its own deadline, not the general SDC programme, and that deadline has passed.
If remuneration is central to your decision, ask SDC directly what stipend applies to the specific qualification you are being considered for. Do not rely on social media figures or third-party blogs.
Qualifications and Skills
Mandatory, according to SDC’s general learner criteria:
- South African citizenship.
- Age 18 to 28.
- Meeting SDC’s B-BBEE eligibility criteria.
- The qualification required for the specific learnership.
- Availability for the full 12-month programme.
- Willingness to attend mandatory practical training.
Preferred or programme-specific:
- Grade 12 rather than Grade 11, for programmes where Grade 12 is the admission requirement.
- Specific subject percentages for insurance and wealth management programmes — Maths 60% or Maths Literacy 70%, plus Business Economics or Accounting at 60%.
- Accounting for the Bookkeeping and Office Administration programmes.
The available information does not specify a driver’s licence, criminal record check or medical fitness requirement for the general programme. Verify with SDC if any of these apply to the stream you want.
Documents Required
This is where SDC differs most sharply from a conventional online learnership application. Online submission of your details is not the end of the process — SDC states that eligible learners must submit original documents in person to begin the official application process.
Third-party application guidance lists the following required documents:
- Updated CV
- Proof of residence
- Two certified copies of your ID
- Two certified copies of your highest qualification
- Three-month bank statement
- SARS tax number (Notice of Registration)
- Proof of disability, if applicable
Verify this list directly with SDC before travelling to a campus. The bank statement and SARS tax number requirements are unusual and are reported by third-party sources rather than confirmed on the official page reviewed. Call ahead on 010 900 3115 or email info@sdcorp.co.za to confirm exactly what is needed for your chosen programme.

How to Apply
SDC’s process is a multi-stage pipeline, not a single form.
Step 1: Submit your learner details online. Use the correct link for your campus and status — abled or disabled, Johannesburg or Cape Town.
Step 2: Submit original documents in person at a campus. Johannesburg: 24 Achter Road, Paulshof, Sandton. Cape Town: 4th Floor, Bloemhof Building, 112 Edward Street, Bellville. Abled learners are seen on Mondays from 08:00 to 12:00; disabled learners Monday to Friday from 08:00 to 12:00.
Step 3: Document review. Documents are verified for authenticity and compliance.
Step 4: Interview. Shortlisted candidates attend a screening interview.
Step 5: Assessment test. Applicants must complete and pass an assessment, with a minimum score of 80% reported in third-party guidance.
Step 6: Database placement. Successful candidates are added to a validated learner database and wait for placement.
Step 7: Enrolment. Candidates are placed into learnerships based on host employer needs and invited to sign contracts.
OFFICIAL APPLICATION LINK: SDC Learnership 2026
ALSO APPLY FOR: Sasol Learnerships 2026–2027
Two things must be said plainly. First, completing every step does not guarantee placement — placement depends on available learnership opportunities . Second, the 80% assessment threshold, if accurate, is high. Prepare for it rather than treating it as a formality.
Closing Date
There is no fixed closing date. SDC’s process is described as an ongoing or rolling intake , and third-party sources note that closing dates vary by programme and intake. One review of the official information confirmed that no closing date was specified.
Verify current availability on SDC’s official learner pages before submitting documents, and confirm whether your chosen programme is actively recruiting. Because placement depends on employer-funded intakes, a programme can be “open” for database registration while having no immediate placements available.
Can You Get a Job After a Learnership?
Completing a learnership can give you a recognised qualification, workplace exposure and a recent reference, all of which improve your position in a competitive job market. It does not guarantee permanent employment.
SDC’s model explicitly involves assisting businesses in identifying candidates for upskilling and potential internal absorption. That is a possibility created by the structure, not a promise. The available information also states that completing all application steps does not guarantee immediate placement.
Treat the qualification and experience as the asset you are building. Any permanent role is an outcome to be earned at the host employer, not an entitlement attached to the learnership.
Learnership Scam Warning
Learnerships attract scams because they are in high demand and applicants are often unfamiliar with formal processes. Protect yourself:
- Submit documents only at SDC’s official campus addresses
- Be suspicious of any request for a registration fee, training fee, placement fee or payment to “secure” a learnership.
- Do not share banking details, one-time PINs or original identity documents with anyone who is not an authorised SDC staff member at an official campus.
- Check the email domain. Legitimate communication should come from an official SDC domain, not a free webmail address.
- Be cautious of offers conducted only through chat apps or social media direct messages.
- No legitimate provider will ask you to pay to be placed in a learnership.
If an offer sounds unusually easy, unusually fast, or requires payment, stop and verify it with SDC directly.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. What is the SDC Learnership Programme?
It is a set of accredited learnerships managed by the Skills Development Corporation, a B-BBEE-aligned training provider, combining theoretical training with mandatory practical workplace experience over at least 12 months.
2. Do I need Matric to apply?
It depends on the programme. Some SDC learnerships require Grade 12; others accept Grade 11, and General Security Practices lists Grade 10. Check the entry requirement for your chosen qualification.
3. What is the age limit?
18 to 28 years old, according to SDC’s current learner eligibility criteria.
4. Does applying guarantee placement
No. Completing the steps adds you to a validated learner database, and placement depends on host employer demand for learners.
Official Source
Provider: Skills Development Corporation (SDC)
Official application: SDC student hub learner-detail pages — https://sd-corp.co.za
Campuses: 24 Achter Road, Paulshof, Sandton, Johannesburg; 4th Floor, Bloemhof Building, 112 Edward Street, Bellville, Cape Town
Contact: 010 900 3115 | info@sdcorp.co.za
Always confirm eligibility, programme requirements, stipend and current availability on the official SDC pages or by phone before submitting documents.
Conclusion
The SDC Learnership Programme 2026 is best understood as a pipeline rather than a vacancy. It suits unemployed South African citizens aged 18 to 28 who meet SDC’s B-BBEE criteria, hold the qualification required for a specific programme, and can commit to at least 12 months of training plus mandatory practical experience.
Before you do anything else, do four things: check which SDC learnerships are currently listed as recruiting, confirm the exact qualification requirement for the one you want, phone SDC on 010 900 3115 to verify the current document list including whether a bank statement and SARS tax number are genuinely required, and then submit your details online before attending a campus in person.
Do not treat online registration as a completed application, and do not treat placement as guaranteed. Prepare for the assessment, arrive with certified copies and originals, and follow the process in the order SDC sets out.

