SA Litho Apprentice 2026
SA Litho Apprentice 2026

SA Litho Apprentice 2026: Offers Real Industry Experience & Career Growth

SA Litho Apprentice 2026: SA Litho Label Printers is recruiting apprentices for its Parow operation in Cape Town, offering three-year training contracts across three printing and packaging trades. The advertisement is unusually direct about one requirement that disqualifies many applicants before they even start: full colour vision.

This guide sets out what the listing actually confirms, what it leaves unstated, and how to prepare an application that survives the first screening round.

Quick Opportunity Summary

  • Apprenticeship: SA Litho Apprentice (advertised as Apprenticeship, CTP Printing & Packaging Cape Town)
  • Company: SA Litho Label Printers, a division of CTP Limited, part of Caxton & CTP Publishers and Printers
  • Trade: Three options — Sheetfed Lithography; Electronic Origination; Flexography / Roll Label Machine Minding
  • Location: Parow, Cape Town, Western Cape (company address listed as Old Mill Road, Ndabeni, Cape Town)
  • Duration: Approximately 36 months
  • Qualification: Matric (Grade 12) completed in the last five years
  • Stipend: Not stated — the listing shows “Market Related” remuneration only
  • Closing date: Not stated in the listing reviewed
  • Status: VERIFY before applying
  • Official application: The Pnet listing for CTP Printing & Packaging Cape Town, Apprenticeship, Parow

About the Apprenticeship

SA Litho Label Printers is a label printing business based in the Western Cape. The company describes itself as a market leader in premium label printing, serving blue-chip FMCG, beverage, pharmaceutical and cosmetics customers. The business was established in Cape Town in 1903 and operates as a division of CTP Limited within the Caxton & CTP group.

The apprenticeship is a structured training contract rather than a short course or a general assistant job. The listing states that the training contract runs for approximately 36 months and combines classroom learning with practical, on-the-floor experience. Successful apprentices work towards becoming qualified tradespeople in a specialised manufacturing environment.

The company’s own description of the working environment is worth noting: a modern manufacturing setting where precision and creativity meet, with continuous technical training, access to advanced print and finishing technologies, and what it describes as clear career development pathways. That is the employer’s framing, not an independent assessment, but it does indicate that the role is positioned as a long-term technical career rather than casual work.

One point of confusion to clear up early: some third-party listings describe this opportunity as a “Learnership” while the employer’s own advertisement uses the word “Apprenticeship.” The programme described is a three-year trade apprenticeship in printing and packaging. If the distinction matters to you — for example, if you are checking whether it carries a specific NQF registration — confirm it directly with the employer.

What Trade or Skill Will You Learn?

The listing offers apprenticeships in three fields. Each leads to a different specialisation within label printing.

Sheetfed Lithography

Sheetfed lithography involves printing onto individual sheets of material rather than a continuous roll. In a label printing context, this trade covers press operation, colour control, registration, ink and substrate handling, and quality checking across a print run. Apprentices in this stream learn to set up, run and monitor sheetfed presses and to identify and correct printing faults.

Electronic Origination

Electronic origination sits at the pre-press end of the process. It covers the digital preparation of artwork and print files before plates or output are produced. This trade suits people who are comfortable with computers, file handling, image preparation and the technical accuracy that pre-press demands. It is the least “inky” of the three options and the most systems-focused.

Flexography / Roll Label Machine Minding

Flexographic printing uses a flexible relief plate on a rotating cylinder and is commonly used for roll-fed label production. Apprentices in this stream learn to set up and mind roll label machines, manage continuous runs, monitor print quality, and handle the mechanical and material demands of roll-fed production.

Across all three, the advertised learning outcomes are broad rather than detailed: a solid technical foundation, hands-on industry experience, and the chance to work alongside experienced tradespeople. The listing does not publish a module-by-module curriculum, so applicants should not assume a specific syllabus or qualification outcome beyond the trade training described.

Who Can Apply?

Based strictly on the requirements stated in the advertisement, applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Citizenship: South African citizen. This is explicitly required.
  • Age: No age limit is stated in the listing reviewed.
  • Education: Completed Matric in the last five years. This is a recency requirement, not just a pass requirement.
  • Mathematics: At least 50% in Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy.
  • Colour vision: Full colour vision. The listing states plainly that colour-blind applicants cannot be considered.
  • Employment status: The listing does not state that applicants must be unemployed. It is advertised as a fixed-term, part-time training contract.
  • Location: Parow, Cape Town. Applicants should be able to travel to the site, including for shift work.
  • Other requirements: Willingness to work shifts; an eye for detail and a passion for precision; a technical foundation is a plus but not essential.

The five-year Matric recency rule is the requirement most likely to trip up older applicants. If you completed Matric more than five years ago, this particular intake is not designed for you. Check the listing before applying rather than assuming an exception will be made.

Qualifications Required

The mandatory qualification is a Matric certificate completed within the last five years, with at least 50% in Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy.

The advertisement expressly states that a technical foundation is a plus but not essential. That means applicants without technical subjects or technical college qualifications are not excluded. What matters more is the combination of the Matric recency rule, the mathematics mark, colour vision and shift availability.

Shortlisted candidates will undergo a medical and criminal check, as stated in the listing.

Practical Training and Workplace Experience

The training model is a 36-month contract combining classroom learning with practical, on-the-floor experience. The listing does not break down how the time is divided between classroom and workshop, nor does it state which training provider delivers the theoretical component.

What the listing does confirm is that apprentices gain a technical foundation, hands-on industry experience, and exposure to advanced print and finishing technologies. The employer also lists training among its company benefits, alongside pension and provident fund contributions, parking and paid annual leave.

Applicants who want more detail on the structure — for example, block release versus day release for classroom study, and which institution delivers it — should raise these questions at interview. The advertisement does not answer them.

Apprenticeship Duration

Approximately 36 months. The listing states that the training contract runs for approximately 36 months, combining classroom learning with practical experience. The word “approximately” is the employer’s own, so treat three years as the expected duration rather than a guaranteed fixed term.

Stipend or Salary

The listing shows remuneration as “Market Related.” No monthly stipend or salary figure is stated.

No amount should be assumed. If pay is a deciding factor, ask about the apprentice stipend or wage structure during the recruitment process. Treat any specific rand figure you see on social media, WhatsApp groups or third-party blogs as unverified until the employer confirms it.

Documents Required

The listing reviewed does not publish a detailed document checklist beyond the qualification requirements. Based on the application process and the requirements stated, prepare the following:

  • An updated CV.
  • Your Matric certificate, or proof of completion, showing the date completed and your Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy result.
  • Evidence of South African citizenship, such as a copy of your ID.
  • Any technical qualifications you hold, if applicable, since a technical foundation is listed as a plus.

The listing advises that shortlisted candidates will undergo medical and criminal checks. Confirm the full document requirements on the official listing before submitting, since application portals often specify formats and certification requirements that the advert summary does not.

 SA Litho Apprentice 2026
SA Litho Apprentice 2026

How to Apply

The opportunity is advertised through the Pnet listing for CTP Printing & Packaging Cape Town, Apprenticeship, Parow, and SA Litho also promotes its apprenticeship opportunities through its LinkedIn presence.

  1. Open the official Pnet listing for the CTP Printing & Packaging Cape Town Apprenticeship in Parow.
  2. Read the full listing, including the trade options and the eligibility rules.
  3. Choose your trade carefully. The advertisement lists three fields, and you should be able to explain in your application why you have chosen one.
  4. Prepare your CV and have your Matric certificate ready, with the completion date and Mathematics result clearly visible.
  5. Submit your application through the official listing.
  6. Prepare for screening, including the medical and criminal checks that the listing states will apply to shortlisted candidates.
  7. Monitor your email and phone for feedback.

OFFICIAL APPLICATION LINK: SA Litho Apprentice 2026

ALSO APPLY FOR: (UFS)Mechanical Apprentice 2026

Do not send your application to an unofficial email address, and do not pay anyone to submit it on your behalf. The listing does not provide an alternative application channel in the information reviewed.

Career Opportunities After an Apprenticeship

Completing a three-year printing apprenticeship can give you trade-level technical experience in a specialised manufacturing environment, which is valuable in label printing, packaging, commercial printing and adjacent manufacturing roles.

It does not guarantee employment with SA Litho or anyone else. The listing does not promise permanent placement, and apprentices should treat the qualification and experience as the asset they are building, not a guaranteed job at the end.

Realistic next steps after qualifying typically include working as a qualified tradesperson in press operation, pre-press or roll label production, progressing into shift supervision or technical specialisation, or applying those skills in the broader packaging and FMCG supply chain. The specific pathway depends on the trade you choose and the experience you accumulate.

Avoid Apprenticeship Scams

Apprenticeships attract scams because they are in demand and applicants are often young and unfamiliar with formal recruitment. Protect yourself:

  • Apply only through the official Pnet listing or a channel confirmed by SA Litho or CTP.
  • Be suspicious of any request for a registration fee, training fee, placement fee or payment for a medical or criminal check.
  • Do not share banking details, one-time PINs or copies of your ID with unofficial intermediaries.
  • Check the email domain. Legitimate employer communication should come from an official company domain, not a free webmail address.
  • Be cautious of interviews or offers conducted only through chat apps or social media direct messages.
  • Remember that no legitimate employer will ask you to pay to secure an apprenticeship.

If an offer sounds unusually easy, unusually fast, or requires payment, stop and verify it directly with the employer.

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What trades are available in the SA Litho apprenticeship?

Three: Sheetfed Lithography, Electronic Origination, and Flexography / Roll Label Machine Minding.

2. Do I need Mathematics, or is Mathematical Literacy accepted?

Either is accepted, provided you achieved at least 50%. The listing does not require Pure Mathematics specifically.

3. How recent must my Matric be?

You must have completed Matric in the last five years. This is a recency requirement stated in the advertisement.

4. Is a technical qualification required?

No. A technical foundation is listed as a plus but not essential.

Conclusion

The SA Litho Apprentice 2026 opportunity is a three-year printing and packaging apprenticeship in Parow, Cape Town, with three trade options and a clear set of entry requirements: South African citizenship, Matric completed within the last five years, at least 50% in Mathematics or Mathematical Literacy, full colour vision and willingness to work shifts.

Before you apply, do three things: confirm the listing is still open on Pnet, check that your Matric completion date falls within the five-year window, and decide which of the three trades genuinely suits you. The colour vision requirement is non-negotiable and worth confirming early rather than after you have invested time in an application.

If the role fits your circumstances, apply early and follow the official process. If the listing has closed by the time you check, the CV and trade research you do now will still serve you for the next printing or packaging apprenticeship that opens.

Comments

No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *